Sixth Form Experience

Your Online Digital Guide To TSAS Sixth Form

Information Technology (IT)

Specialist Qualification - Information Technology (IT)

Entry Criteria:
– Five GCSE’s at Grade 4 or above
– One of the five to be GCSE Mathematics or English at Grade 4 or above.

Coursework/Examination Requirements: The course is made up of four units, one 2 hour written examination unit, one 5 hour supervised assessment and two coursework units

Awarding Body/Specifications: Pearson, Level 3 Certificate/Extended Certificate in Information Technology.
Students will be awarded a Pass, Merit, Distinction or Distinction*.

Specialist Qualification (equivalent to one A Level): A specialist, vocationally related qualification for those who have a clear vision for their future career or who want to progress to higher education. Specialist Qualifications are understood and recognised by a large number of organisations in the IT industry. They are developed to ensure they meet employer and student needs. The following units will be covered on this course:

Year 12

Unit 2: Creating Systems to Manage Information (Mandatory)
Learners complete a task to design, create, test and evaluate a relational
database system that manages information, applying their transferable and
specialist knowledge and skills.

Unit 3: Using Social Media in Business (Mandatory)
Learners explore how businesses use social media to promote their products
and services. Learners also implement social media activities in a business to meet requirements.

Year 13

Unit 1: Information Technology Systems (Mandatory)
You will explore the relationships between the hardware and software that form an IT system, and the way that systems work individually and together, as well as the relationship between the user and the system. You will examine issues related to the use of IT systems and the impact that they have on organisations and individuals.

Unit 6: Website Development (Specialist)

Learners will investigate website development, they will then design and develop a website.

Specialist Qualification Certificate: If you choose to study this subject for one year only, you will be awarded the Certificate (equivalent to one AS Level). You will cover Units 2 and 3 and sit public examinations in Year 12.

Progression: This course can lead to Higher Education on an HND or Degree in Computer Studies or in any of the following careers: Software Developer, Games Designer, Website Developer, Technician, Network Manager, Computer Systems Analyst, Programmer and many more.

Opportunities: You will have many opportunities to develop the essential skills required in the real business world by stretching and challenging yourself. Students will also be able to engage with guest speakers and visit local businesses and institutions.

What are you waiting for?

Thorpe High School and Sixth Form is part of the Yare Education Trust which is a charitable company limited by guarantee, registered in England and Wales at Trust Central Office.
© Yare Education Trust 2020