Sixth Form Experience

Your Online Digital Guide To TSAS Sixth Form

Medical Science

Specialist Qualification - Medical Science

Entry Criteria:
– Five GCSE’s at Grade 4 or above
– One of the five to be GCSE Mathematics or English at Grade 4 or above
– Double Award Science with Grades 4-4 or above

Coursework/Examination Requirements: The course is made up of six units, one examination unit, three task
based internal assessment units, one task based external assessment unit and one synoptic assessment.

Awarding Body/Specifications: WJEC Applied Certificate/Applied Diploma in Medical Science. Students will be awarded
A* to E by the points gained for the successful achievement of individual units

Specialist Qualification (equivalent to one A Level):
Medical Science is the science of dealing with the maintenance of health and the prevention and treatment of
diseases. Medical scientists are at the forefront of healthcare services, as they are vital in the diagnosis of disease, determining the effectiveness of treatments and
searching for new cures.

The following units will be covered on this course:

Year 12

Unit 1 – Human Health and Disease
This unit develops knowledge and understanding of human anatomy and
physiology. It will help you develop an understanding of the function of organ
systems and some problems that can occur in these systems.

Unit 2 – Physiological Measurement Techniques
This unit develops knowledge and understanding about the physiological
measurements that can be made to assess the function of major body systems. It
relates anatomy and physiology to physiological measurement test results,
through an understanding of the principles of the measurement techniques.

Unit 3 – Medical Science Research Methods
This unit develops knowledge and understanding of planning, conducting and
reporting of research in medical sciences using a range of methodologies and

Year 13

Unit 4 – Medicine and Treatment of Disease
This unit develops knowledge and understanding about the science of medicines and how they work through their interactions with body systems. It also introduces cancer, its relationship to genetics and the range of therapeutic treatments available.

Unit 5 – Clinical Laboratory Techniques
You will learn about the clinical laboratory techniques that can be used to assess body functions. It relates knowledge and understanding of human physiology and biochemistry to clinical measurement test results through an understanding of the principles of the measurement techniques.

Unit 6 – Medical Case Study. This unit is the overall synoptic unit for the Diploma qualification. It provides the opportunity for candidates to demonstrate their understanding of the connections between the other five units of this Medical Science qualification.

Specialist Qualification Applied Certificate: If you choose to study this subject for one year only, you will be awarded the Certificate (equivalent to an AS Level). You will cover Units 1, 2 and 3 and sit public examinations in Year 12. Unit 1 will be an examination (worth 50%) and Units 2 and 3 will be coursework assessed.

Progression: This course supports employment in physiological sciences or clinical laboratory services and can give access to Higher Education courses such as Physiotherapy, Occupational Therapy, Health and Speech Therapy and Social work. Opportunities for university and degree apprenticeships are supported by this program.

Opportunities: We hope to make site visits in order to view and use specialist medical equipment.

What are you waiting for?

Thorpe High School and Sixth Form is part of the Yare Education Trust which is a charitable company limited by guarantee, registered in England and Wales at Trust Central Office.
© Yare Education Trust 2020